Ford EcoSport sweeps 2014 Autocar awards, Bajaj KTM 390 Duke is Bike of the Year

The Bloomberg TV India-Autocar Awards, held in Mumbai on December 20, rewarded the movers and shakers of the Indian auto industry. While the Ford EcoSport bagged six awards, KTM and Bajaj Auto's seamless package — 390 Duke — won on two wheels.

Autocar Pro News DeskBy Autocar Pro News Desk calendar 06 Jan 2014 Views icon4910 Views Share - Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to LinkedIn Share to Whatsapp
India’s automotive Oscars – the Bloomberg TV-Autocar India awards – were held on December 20, on the verdant lawns of the Taj Lands End hotel in Mumbai.

The big winner of the evening was the Ford EcoSport which bagged the automobile industry’s most coveted award – the Bloomberg TV-Autocar Car of the Year 2014 trophy. Apart from the title trophy, the compact SUV also drove away with five other awards including SUV of the Year, Best Value for Money, Viewer’s Choice Award (voted for by viewers of the ‘Autocar Show’ on Bloomberg TV), the Engine of the Year for the 1.0 EcoBoost engine and finally, the Technology & Innovation award for its Sync with Emergency Assist system.

The Bloomberg TV-Autocar Bike of the Year 2014 award was bagged by the KTM 390 Duke which blends potent performance, decent fuel efficiency and a reasonable price-tag in a winning package.

Speaking at the awards nite, Union petroleum minister M Veerappa Moily said that diesel prices are likely to be fully deregulated by May-June 2014. He revealed that in light of increasing refining capacity in the country and new finds in the Barmer basin in Rajasthan, India could be looking to fast reducing its oil imports by 2020 and even looking at the potential of self-sufficiency in the sector (see interview on page 17).

The awards were decided by a distinguished jury comprising Hormazd Sorabjee – editor, Autocar India, Shapur Kotwal – deputy editor, Autocar India, Manvendra Singh – India’s leading automobile historian, Renuka Kirpalani – editor, Autocar Show, Narain Karthikeyan – India’s first F1 driver, Rishad Cooper – two-wheeler editor, Autocar India, Kartikeya Singhee – consulting associate editor, Autocar Show, and C S Santosh – motocross racer.

The Autocar Car of the Year Awards continue a tradition of recognising excellence that dates back to 2002. They are the culmination of weeks of behind-the-scenes work. The eight-member jury scrutinised reams of facts, figures and data generated by Autocar India’s satellite-based road testing equipment. The 15 cars and three bikes were then put through a rigorous series of tests to evaluate various parameters. And then auditors from KPMG, who ensured a watertight methodology both in terms of eligibility and judging criteria, tabulated the score sheets to declare the final list of winners. Here's looking at the movers and shakers.

The event, like always, was a celebration of the Indian automobile industry, whose fortunes are down right now, but not for long.

EXCLUSIVE: Licence to drive, not kill!

auther Autocar Pro News Desk calendar08 Jun 2023

Legacy driving school institutes are now unifying to meet Accredited Driver Training Centre norms, but the journey is fa...

Developing ADAS for Indian conditions

auther Autocar Pro News Desk calendar05 Jun 2023

With unique driving conditions and challenges, there is a need for testing almost 2,00,000 accident scenarios to fine-tu...

Education firms bet big on EV, IoT as futuristic courses

auther Autocar Pro News Desk calendar26 May 2023

How are education technology firms preparing for the new auto era? Autocar Professional takes a look at how companies ar...