Jean-Eric Vergne wins in Sanya; Mahindra Racing and Envision Virgin Racing tied at 97 points each

by Autocar Pro News Desk , 24 Mar 2019

Jean-Eric Vergne secured a much-needed victory in Sanya on home soil for the Chinese DS TECHEETAH team, vaulting the reigning champion to third in the standings and reigniting his title defence in the 2019 ABB Formula E Championship.

After three 'pointless' races, DS Techeetah driver and reigning champion Jean-Eric Vergne clinched his first win of the season on the streets of Sanya. The Frenchman was followed by Nissan e.dams' rookie Oliver Rowland and BMW i Andretti Motorsport's Antonio Felix da Costa in third, who climbs to the top of the championship standings. 

Without a point to his name in the previous three races, Vergne’s championship aspirations were at a crossroads coming to Sanya. However, such is the close competition of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship, the win jumps Vergne up the order to sit only eight points adrift of BMW i Andretti Motorsport's Antonio Felix da Costa and Mahindra Racing's Jerome D’Ambrosio.

Not only is it a sixth victory for Vergne in Formula E, the result sees a sixth different driver standing on the top step in as many races - still without a repeat winner this season.

Vergne started on the front row alongside Oliver Rowland, who lined-up in Julius Baer pole position for Nissan e.dams. With the leading pack running nose-to-tail in the early stages of the race, Vergne made his move at just over half race distance - catching Rowland unawares up the inside of the tight left-hander at Turn 11.

From there Vergne maintained position and held on to victory, despite a late scare for not respecting the safety car procedure resulting in a reprimand. Vergne also collected a point for fastest lap, which puts him tied on points with Envision Virgin Racing’s Sam Bird - who failed to score after a coming together with Stoffel Vandoorne on the opening lap.

Rowland crossed the line in second place - disappointed to miss out on a maiden victory in Formula E, but earning a first podium finish for the Nissan e.dams outfit after squandering a number of chances in Santiago, Mexico City and Hong Kong.

The podium positions were rounded-out by Da Costa who held station in third, moving the BMW i Andretti Motorsport driver back to the top of the standings after another large haul of points.

Vergne’s team-mate Andre Lotterer added to DS TECHEETAH’s tally in fourth - avoiding damage after a scuffle with Alexander Sims. Although, Sims wasn’t so fortunate after stopping on track with suspension damage and bringing out the red flags. After a short delay in the pitlane the race got back underway with 12-minutes left on the countdown clock.

Daniel Abt was the highest-ranked Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler driver in fifth, with Sebastien Buemi bouncing back to sixth after starting in the pitlane following issues in qualifying - later dropping to ninth for causing a collision with Robin Frijns.

Approaching the halfway mark of the season, the top-six drivers are only separated by 10 points. It’s wide open in the title race as the series heads to Rome for the start of the voestalpine European races on April 13 - round seven of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship.

On the team standings front, Envision Virgin Racing and Mahindra Racing are tied with 97 points each with Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler hard behind them with 96 points and DS Techeetah with 95 points. Come April and the Formula E Championship turns even more exciting. Remain plugged in. 

1. Jean-Eric Vergne / DS TECHEETAH / 1:02:50.185s
2. Oliver Rowland / Nissan e-dams / +1.762s
3. Antonio Felix da Costa / BMW i Andretti Motorsport / +3.268s
4. Andre Lotterer / DS TECHEETAH / +4.631s
5. Daniel Abt / Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler / +5.972s
6. Jerome D’Ambrosio / MAHINDRA RACING / +17.340s
7. Pascal Wehrlein / MAHINDRA RACING / +18.367s
8. Sebastien Buemi / Nissan e-dams / +19.405s
9. Mitch Evans / Panasonic Jaguar Racing / +20.646s
10. Felipe Massa / VENTURI Formula E Team / +20.646s
11. Oliver Turvey / NIO Formula E Team / +31.453s
12. Tom Dillmann / NIO Formula E Team / +32.654s
13. Edoardo Mortara / VENTURI Formula E Team / +38.208s
14. Robin Frijns / Envision Virgin Racing / + 1 Lap
15. Lucas di Grassi / Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler /+ 2 Laps

Antonio Felix da Costa/ BMW i Andretti Motorsport / 62
Jerome D’Ambrosio / MAHINDRA RACING / 61
Jean-Eric Vergne / DS TECHEETAH / 54
Sam Bird / Envision Virgin Racing / 54
Lucas di Grassi / Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler / 52
Daniel Abt / Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler / 44
Robin Frijns / Envision Virgin Racing / 43
Andre Lotterer / DS TECHEETAH / 41
Pascal Wehrlein / MAHINDRA RACING / 36
Mitch Evans / Panasonic Jaguar Racing / 36
Oliver Rowland / Nissan e.dams / 27
Sebastien Buemi/ Nissan e.dams / 19
Alexander Sims / BMW i Andretti Motorsport / 18
}Felipe Massa / VENTURI Formula E Team / 15
Oliver Turvey / NIO Formula E Team / 6
Gary Paffett / HWA RACELAB / 4
Stoffel Vandoorne / RACELAB / 3}
Jose Maria Lopez / GEOX DRAGON / 2
Nelson Piquet Jr. / Panasonic Jaguar Racing / 1
Tom Dillmann NIO Formula E Team / 0
Maximilian Gunther / GEOX DRAGON / 0
Felipe Nasr / GEOX DRAGON / 0
Felix Rosenqvist / MAHINDRA RACING / 0

Envision Virgin Racing / 97
Mahindra Racing / 97
Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler / 96
DS Techeetah/ 95
BMW i Andretti Motorsport /80
Venturi Formula E Team / 67
Nissan e.dams /46
Panasonic Jaguar Racing /37
HWA Racelab / 7
NIO Formula E Team / 6
Geox Dragon / 2




magazine image

Latest Auto industry updates and news articles