Tata Motors announces third season of T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship

by Autocar Pro News Desk , 27 Jan 2016


Tata Motors has announced season III of the T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship 2016, scheduled to be held on March 20, 2016, at the Buddh International Circuit (BIC), Greater Noida. The latest season of the T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship will also feature an Indian truck driver’s race for the first time. Like in the earlier seasons, the championship will continue to host experienced international drivers representing six teams, featuring 12 Tata Prima race trucks built for the purpose.

The CV-maker has also conceptualized and introduced a new Indian Truck Driver Race selection and training program based on the company’s objective of making the profession of truck driving aspirational and at the same time act as a catalyst to induct drivers into the commercial vehicles profession. The Indian truck drivers will be selected from a pool of drivers who are employed with Tata Motors’ customers all over the country. In all, the company will have 12 Indian truck drivers at the T1 Prima Championship. 

Commenting on the occasion, Ravindra Pisharody, executive director, Commercial Vehicle Business Unit, said, “We at Tata Motors are delighted to host season III of the T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship, a much-awaited calendar event and one of the most pioneering in the country’s commercial vehicle industry & India’s motorsports history. Ever since it was first introduced in 2014, T1 has proved to be a great platform to showcase the prowess of the Indian commercial vehicles industry and that of Tata Motors, and Season III presents us with a great opportunity to launch our next big initiative – Indian Race Truck drivers.”

Explaining the truck driver race training & selection program, Pisharody added, “Hand-picked through a rigorous driver training and selection program from a pool of commercial vehicle drivers, we are proud to have collaborated with our customers for a shared vision in promoting the profession of truck driving. We are excited and honored to have these individuals as the newest members of the T1 Prima Championship.”

The Indian truck drivers will have a separate category named ‘Super Class’ at the race day event, while professional international drivers will race under the ‘Pro Class’ tag.

The Truck Racing Championship is organized by MMSC (Madras Motor Sports Club) and is inscribed on the calendars of FIA (Federation Internationale de l’Automobile) and FMSCI (the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India). 

comments powered by Disqus