SAE India institutes Dr Krishan Kumar Award for Excellence in Quality

by Autocar Pro News Desk , 18 Feb 2020

SAE India has been working to develop the skill levels of engineering students and professionals through student competitions, technical seminars and webinars. SAE India members contribute by way of conferences, seminars, faculty development programs, industry visits to students, and lecture sessions.

The biggest contribution by SAE to the student community is by organising student events like Baja, Supra, Efficycle and AWIM where students are given an opportunity to show their creative skills, design and meet the expectations of the automotive industry. In recognition of the important contributions made by the students, engineers and those related to mobility, the SAE India Foundation has been recognising outstanding mobility engineers over the past few years. This year, the ceremony was held on February 10 in New Delhi.

Two new awards have been instituted this year. An award to honour Dr Krishan Kumar, who was the founder President of SAE India and SAE India Foundation. For the auto industry, he was the quality guru who developed Service Quality Norms for Customer Delight and as director Maruti Suzuki India, worked with component manufacturers for quality upgradation for zero- defect supplies and a mentor for many business heads and CEOs of the component industry.

His biggest contribution was starting the Deming Prize (Total Quality Management) and TPM (Total Productive Maintenance) Clusters with the support of renowned academics from Japan for the component industry. In his honour and remembrance SAE India Foundation has instituted Dr Krishan Kumar award for Excellence in Quality. In all 34 awards were presented to students, faculty and industry professionals. The Dr K Kumar Quality Excellence award has been conferred on Dr Sarita Nagpal, ex-DDG, CII for her contribution for upgradation of component manufacturers.

Mrs Kumar was present to give away the award to Dr Sarita Nagpal along with Dr Richard Greaves, previous president - SAE International; Dr Bala Bhardvaj, President SAE India and MD Boeing India; Murli Iyer, Global advisor SAE International; IV Rao, president SAE India Foundation and SR Visiting Fellow, TERI; and Mr Dinesh Tyagi, Chairman SAE NIS and Director ICAT.  

The Dr Greeves Aerospace Industry award was presented to Mr Dinesh from UCAL Fuel Systems, Chennai. The Lifetime Achievement award was presented to Dr R. K. Malhotra, ex-chairman, Indian Oil Corporation and Director General, FIPI (Federation of Indian Petroleum Industry), Mr Mundada, ex-senior GM, Bajaj Tempo and Dr Ganesh Prof (Emiratus ) IIT Chennai for their outstanding contribution to mobility technologies.