India focuses on advanced biofuels, becomes 25th member of IEA Bioenergy TCP

The ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas has joined IEA Bioenergy TCP with the aim to facilitate market introduction of advanced biofuels and a platform for international collaboration for the same.

Autocar Pro News Desk By Autocar Pro News Desk calendar 01 Mar 2019 Views icon13960 Views Share - Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to LinkedIn Share to Whatsapp
India focuses on advanced biofuels, becomes 25th member of IEA Bioenergy TCP

The Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas (MoP&NG), government of India has recently joined IEA Bioenergy TCP as its 25th member. The primary goal of MoP&NG joining IEA Bioenergy TCP is to facilitate the market introduction of advanced biofuels with an aim to bring down emissions and reduce substantial crude oil imports.

IEA Bioenergy TCP also provides a platform for international collaboration and information exchange in bioenergy research, technology development, demonstration, and policy analysis with a focus on overcoming the environmental, institutional, technological, social, 'and market barriers to the near-and long-term deployment of bioenergy technologies.

International Energy Agency's Technology Collaboration Programme on Bioenergy (IEA Bioenergy TCP) is an international platform for co-operation among countries with the aim of improving cooperation and information exchange between countries that have national programmes in bioenergy research, development and deployment. IEA Bioenergy TCP works under the framework of International Energy Agency (IEA) to which India has "Association" status since 30th March, 2017.

The R&D work in IEA Bioenergy TCP is carried out within well-defined 3-year programmes called 'Tasks'. Each year, the progress of the Tasks is evaluated and scrutinised and every three years the content reformulated and new Tasks initiated. Technical persons from public sector oil marketing companies will also contribute in the Tasks.

The benefits of participation in IEA Bioenergy TCP are shared costs and pooled technical resources. The duplication of efforts is avoided and national R&D capabilities are strengthened. There is an information exchange about best practices, network of researchers and linking research with practical implementation. 

The other members of IEA Bioenergy TCP include Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, the United States, and the European Commission.

Hyundai recalls 1,744 Ioniq 5 EVs to inspect integrated charging control unit

auther Autocar Pro News Desk calendar15 Jun 2024

Hyundai Motor India has cited a “potential issue in the integrated charging control unit (ICCU), which may discharge the...

Tata Motors looks to tap growing trend for personalisation in cars and SUVs

auther Autocar Pro News Desk calendar15 Jun 2024

The car and SUV maker expects the trend of mass customisation to transition into each car being a unique product, enable...

Hero MotoCorp to increase its stake in Ather Energy

auther Autocar Pro News Desk calendar07 Jun 2024

Hero MotoCorp, which is an early investor in Ather Energy and has been a part of the Bengaluru-based smart electric scoo...