Sherco TVS announces Dakar Rally squad

by Sumantra B Barooah 18 Oct 2019

Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team today announced its four-rider squad for Dakar Rally 2020 scheduled to take place between January 5-17, 2020 in Saudi Arabia, at TVS MotoSoul 2019, Goa.  The team includes seasoned racer Michael Metge (France), Enduro Champion Lorenzo Santolino (Spain), and Johnny Aubert (France), and India’s ace rider Harith Noah who is set to make his debut at the Dakar Rally.

The company says the Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team has had an impressive year with strong performances at all international events in 2019 including Merzouga Rally, Desert Storm, Baja Aragon, and aims for a strong finish at Dakar 2020.

Commenting on the TVS Motorsports activities, Vinay Harne, president - New Product Introduction, TVS Motor Co, said: "Each time we win, the customer gets a better bike. Each time we lose, our R&D team gets valuable inputs."

Dakar 2020 is the 42nd edition of the annual international Rally-Raid which will be taking place in the dunes of Saudi Arabia, commencing at Jeddah passing through Riyadh and culminating at Al Qiddiya. This is Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team’s sixth consecutive year of participation in the Rally.

The Sherco TVS-team's lead rider Michael Metge is gearing for his seventh outing at the Rally this year, and Lorenzo Santolino will make his second appearance at Dakar Rally. The team also welcomes Johnny Aubert, who finished sixth in Dakar 2018 bringing with him 35 years of racing experience. The fourth rider, Harith Noah is one of the brightest talent from India and has shown tremendous performance in the international rallies.

Indian rider and Dakar 2019 finisher Aravind KP, who has been part of the TVS Racing team since 2006, sustained a leg injury during his practice session earlier in the year due to which he will not be participating in Dakar Rally 2020. KP successfully completed the 2019 edition of Dakar making him the only Indian to finish the gruesome rally at 37th position.

In 2015, TVS Racing became the first Indian factory team to take part in the Dakar Rally by forging a partnership with Sherco.